Help Center. We’re here to help

Push employee data to Flow Hospitality Training

Follow

If you are using Flow Hospitality Training as your training and development solution you can easily manage your users through Planday to avoid maintaining both systems.

When an employee is created, updated or deactivated in Planday, the integration automatically pushes the necessary information to Flow where it creates, updates or deactivates that user.

If you are a new Flow customer, you can Push all your employees in one click from Planday to create them instantly as users in Flow. See 2.3 Push employees.

Below is a list of all the employee information that will be exported from Planday to Flow. 

Employee information

Creating or updating users in Flow is based on the following information from Planday:

  • Identifier 
  • Forename
  • Surname
  • Branch
  • Jobtitle
  • Email
  • Date of birth
  • Start date
  • End date
  • Department (optional)

Below we'll walk through how to enable the integration.

1. Getting started

1.1 Prepare Flow hospitality training

Contact the Flow support team to do the following for you:

  • Create the job titles you use in Planday (this must be done before the integration can be activated)
  • Provide you with these connection details:
    • Flow Company ID
    • Flow Secret

You will also need to enable any relevant settings e.g. send automatic login emails.

1.2 Prepare custom fields in Planday

For some of the data Planday will send Flow, you'll need to create new custom fields in Planday to hold that employee info.

In Planday you can add new custom fields for employee information in Settings > People > Employee form setup. Read more about creating custom fields here.

As with most cases, you'll probably need to create a new field for Branch, Jobtitle and Department (optional).

Branch: The branch code is related to each of your branches in Flow. Since there is no field in Planday that matches the branch, you need to create a new field for it.

Job title: You can use the standard free text field in Planday for the job title. If instead you'd like to have a fixed set of job titles, you can create a new dropdown field containing all your various job titles you will use. This option prevents duplicates of job titles from being created due to typos or different formatting.

Department: While your employees can be assigned to multiple departments in Planday, they can only be assigned to one department in Flow. As a result, you need to create a new field for department. 

When creating your new custom fields, remember to:

  • set them as required and editable for both "Create" and "Edit" employees.

2. Activate the integration to Flow

2.1 Enter connection details

  1. Log into Planday and go to Settings > Integrations > Overview
  2. Go to the Flow integration in the E-learning category, and click Add 

    Screen_Shot_2017-11-03_at_13.52.07.png

  3. Enter the Flow Company ID and the Flow Secret you received from the Flow support team

    Screen_Shot_2017-11-03_at_13.52.48.png

2.2 Integration settings

You can now map which Planday fields to send to the Branch, Job title and Department (optional) in Flow.

From the dropdown menus, choose which fields to send to Flow. Take note that both custom and standard fields will appear. 

You'll need to agree with Flow if you will include or exclude emails. If you would like to exclude the emails when you push to Flow, deselect the check box "Include employee email addresses." 

Click Activate to launch the integration. 

Screen_Shot_2017-11-03_at_13.53.34.png

Now when employees are created, updated or deactivated, the integration will automatically send and apply the relevant employee info in Flow.

2.3 Push employees

If you're new to Flow, you can do a quick manual push of all your employees to create them in Flow.

When you're ready to launch the integration after activating it, click "Manage" on the Flow integration tile, then click "Push employees" at the bottom of the panel. This will push your employees to Flow all at once. 

Press save or cancel to close the settings panel.

If you already have users in Flow, the Flow system will filter out existing employees by checking the email and name to avoid creating duplicates.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Can't find what you're looking for?

Our in-house customer team is here to help you